Freeing Up Disk Space Before a Software Update

When performing a software upgrade, a SecureSync or NetClock 9400 requires additional disk space. It is recommended to ensure memory usage is less than 70% before upgrading. If memory usage is more than 70%, save and delete logs and previous update files

March 14, 2016
Affected Products: 
NetClock
SecureSync

About memory usage

SecureSync and NetClock 9400 units use a Compact Flash (CF) memory card for storing logs, configurations and software. If the CF card usage is higher than normal when a software update is performed, this can potentially result in the loss of some or all of the unit’s configurations upon completion of the software update process or may prevent the update from being able to begin. It is recommended that CF card usage is less than 70% before starting a software update.

Determining Current Disk Usage
There are two ways to determine the usage, via the Web UI, or using the Command Line Interface (CLI):

Determining Disk Usage via the Web UI

  1. In the Web UI, navigate to TOOLS > SYSTEM: Upgrade/Backup.
  2. In the Disk Status panel in the bottom-left corner of the screen, the Percent value indicates what percentage of disk space is currently used.

Determining Disk Usage via the CLI

  1. Login to the CLI (telnet or ssh)
  2. At the command prompt, type: df –h enter
  3. The “Use%” column in the “/dev/hda1” row will indicate the CF card usage

Archiving and Deleting Log Files

If the disk usage is higher than 70% (approximately), Spectracom recommends that you delete the logs and update files that may have been previously applied before performing the system software upgrade.

Archiving Logs
As an option, the logs can be archived (backed up) before deletion, by bundling them into a single file, and then transferring them to your PC, all from within the Web UI.

To archive logs: In the Web UI, navigate to MANAGEMENT > OTHER: Log Configuration Click on Save and Download All Logs. This will generate a single bundled file (*.log) of the logs. Select where to save this file on your PC.

Deleting Logs and Statistics
To delete log files and statistics files, in order to cleanup disk space:

  1. In the Web UI, navigate to TOOLS > SYSTEM: Upgrade/Backup.
  2. In the bottom-left corner of the screen, take note of the Percent value, indicating how much disk space is currently used. Then click on Clear All Logs, and then Clear All Stats below.

After completion of the process, the Percent value should show a smaller number, indicating how much disk space was cleared.

Deleting Old Update Files

Update files used in previously executed software upgrades are stored in the home/spectracom directory. You can delete them individually via the Web UI (they are no longer used by the System, after the update has been applied).

To delete each update file:

  1. In the Web UI, navigate to Tools > Upgrade/Backup.
  2. Click on the button Update System Software in the top-left corner. The Upgrade System Software window will open. The drop-down list will display each update file currently stored in the Compact Flash Card.
  3. Select the file to be deleted, and check the Delete Upgrade File checkbox. Then click Submit.
  4. Repeat this process to delete any other listed update file.

Disk Cleanup Patch
Under some circumstances, clearing logs and stats conventionally via the Web UI (as described above) will require a second step in order to achieve an optimum restoration of disk space.

To this end, Spectracom provides a Disk Cleanup Patch that can be downloaded with instructions from and run from within the Web UI. This Patch will clean items that are not user accessible otherwise.